the journal

david @ rh_circles

Week 2

with 6 comments

Something about listening to “Disintegration Loops” made me realize that I had been numb to a certain component that I had as a creature made by God.  As I’m typing this, I’m still not completely sure, but I think it has something to do with my worldview.

What I mean by my worldview is this: ever since I was little, I kept my own thoughts of how I imagined the world to have developed.  I think I did this more often as I began to study science, and to put it crudely, I adjusted for the “God factor” in everything.  It was my way of making sense of everything that I learned in school and what I read from the Bible.

When I listened to the puzzling piece of music that night, I began to appreciate art and music in that they could serve their purpose in glorifying God.  Of course, I knew this before, but I think I have a bad “spiritual memory.”  The music also reminded me that we were hybrids– part body and mind, and part spirit– and something about realizing that in such a deep, experiential manner provided a huge contrast from my worldview.

It’s quite ironic in that scientists perform experiments to learn and verify things, when all of that is really nothing like having an undeniable experience firsthand.  We can squeeze out theories and describe the universe using numbers and even applaud the complexity and beauty of God’s creation, but it just falls short when compared to simply taking a step back and being in awe of who God is, and who we are in relation to him.

Written by David

February 10, 2011 at 10:19 pm

Posted in Circles

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ve never heard anyone say they have a bad spiritual memory, but I’m pretty sure that’s exactly how I feel sometimes! I have my own ways about me, and instead of relying on the truth I know and even have experienced, I continue to test and try to see if it’s really true (as if something “really ” true is more true than just “true”) Thanks for giving me so much to think about this morning 😉

    Renee Rebold

    February 11, 2011 at 8:37 am

  2. David this is seriously awesome. You’ve really encouraged me with this. In the naturalistic view of the world there is no room for an “experience” of any kind. Especially to qualify it’s validity in an argument for subjects such as Evolution & Natural Law. The truth is it’s not unreasonable to have an experience carry a sort of evidential weight to it in support of an argument. The world cannot grasp this.

    Thanks David for shedding light onto something I have also been contemplating for a long time.

    Nick Anderson

    February 11, 2011 at 11:12 am

  3. Thanks for sharing how this is challenging you. i think it’s ironic (or God :)) that you said you have a bad spiritual memory and the whole night was about “remembering”. Pretty great.

    Karen Benoit

    February 11, 2011 at 2:09 pm

  4. I liked the idea of being a hybrid. Interesting.

    rbrtolguin

    February 11, 2011 at 9:50 pm

  5. A friend and I were just talking about this today … The idea of paradigm and Jew coloring everything we see or can imagine. Ice would seem unimaginable to someone who never heard or experienced anything outside of a tropical climate, but just because he hadn’t experienced it wouldn’t make ice any less real. When we look for who God is instead of who we expect him to be, I think we are always in for a surprise!

    Anonymous

    February 12, 2011 at 10:29 pm

  6. So perfectly captured, David. And this is why we write down moments like this, to counteract our deficient “spiritual memories.”

    Nick Benoit

    February 17, 2011 at 8:19 pm


Leave a Reply

