the journal

david @ rh_circles

thanks

with 12 comments

I first of all want to apologize for not having spent enough time responding to blog posts and writing posts myself – but I’m finally adjusting and making time. Darin’s “Friendly Reminder” e-mail played a part in speeding up that process. Thanks, Darin. Darin is a gentle fellow and may his beard continue to grow vigorously through all seasons.

The things we’ve discussed every week have been on my mind constantly, but it was quite difficult to clear my head from distractions and form my thoughts into words. When I can’t make time to be alone, I’ve discovered that plugging in my earphones with no music lets me distance myself from my friend who is only inches away from me and ready to share the next random fact of the day.

I recently remembered something these two people said when they prayed for me a few years ago. One person said that a large piece of hot and freshly-baked bread came to mind. The other person said that he saw me tearing down walls like paper and running after God.

I desire that so much. I want to see and taste that God is good. A few days ago I was having a conversation with my friend for several hours about John 1. It’s simply amazing when we realize that the word is God- we’re not just learning about God when we read the bible. I want to consume his word. I want to internalize it and make it a part of me.

It’s just so amazing how God has allowed me to meet such awesome brothers and sisters in Circles. I am encouraged every time I read your words and hear your thoughts. Thank you, and thank you for being in my life.

Written by David

February 17, 2011 at 10:00 pm

Posted in Circles

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It’s really cool to hear your passion and desire to get to know God through the Word! For years, I paralyzed myself and never really read the Bible because I didn’t know where to start. I’ve recently made myself get going and it’s so great! All that to say, don’t let that desire go when you feel like you don’t know where to start! I chose the beginning. Can’t wait to get to know you David!

    Prescott Van Leer

    February 17, 2011 at 10:13 pm

  2. David,

    Thank you for being open about your yearning to meet God and to know HIs goodness. It is encouraging to read how you are openly seeking Him and even how you are able to distance yourself from everyday distractions.

    Thanks for sharing!

    kate heeschen

    February 17, 2011 at 10:47 pm

  3. Just finding that moment of quietness is such a great thing to do. I am glad you have figured out a way, even if it is pretending to be listening to music lol. A lot of times that is hard for me, but when I can get to those places it is such a marvelous place indeed!

    rbrtolguin

    February 18, 2011 at 10:02 am

  4. I’ve been a little creatively dry the last few weeks. I’ve been trying to be creative and have stunning ideas all on my own. It was making me anxious, and that does nothing to boost creativity.

    Today I decided to stop my striving. Not easy. It feels so passive to do nothing, but I’ve spent the entire day today just making space for God. At the beginning I just told God that I trusted him.

    And he delivers. He’s been flooding my mind for the last couple hours. All this to say that even this post tonight is an answer to prayer. Your friend’s vision of you “tearing down walls like paper” was incredibly inspiring just now. It has me thinking about all kinds of ideas.

    And may we all pursue him in that way!

    Nick Benoit

    February 18, 2011 at 7:06 pm

  5. yeah man its a straight up letter from God!

    and im so glad you blessed Darins beard hahahah

    Zach Hoffman

    February 20, 2011 at 10:15 am

  6. may He continue to speak to you through His word. i have recently been praying that God would give me a hunger for His word. i want to want it more than anything but i often find myself spending my time and resources in everything else but His word. praying hunger for you too.

    dannah

    February 21, 2011 at 10:39 am

  7. the earphones thing kinda struck me. because i do that same thing without the tangible headphones. i just block out the people around me and find ways to avoid interaction. such a shame. we’re so afraid sometimes.

    Bayley

    February 21, 2011 at 2:53 pm

  8. I too David felt like I was slacking on blogging and posting comments. I really love how we can all just be real with each other and admit our flaws. I appreciate your honesty and I look forward to getting to know you more over these next few months.

    Adrienne

    February 23, 2011 at 9:56 am

  9. “I want to internalize it and make it a part of me.”

    Dude thats my prayer everyday!

    Justin Southworth

    February 24, 2011 at 10:28 am

  10. Glad you like the beard. And glad the “friendly reminder” was helpful.

    It definitely takes a lot of work and discipline to chase after God…don’t give up!

    Darin McWatters

    February 24, 2011 at 4:18 pm

  11. I have noticed how intentional you have been in commenting on the blogs and I appreciate your time, thoughts, and effort! I was planning to say something anyways and then you wrote about it. Very cool. Thanks for being you and working at this!

    Karen Benoit

    February 28, 2011 at 2:23 am

  12. thanks so much. I do that too with the no music/ headphones! tricky, tricky. I think God is smiling at your words, David.

    Jenna

    March 7, 2011 at 9:35 am


Leave a Reply

