the journal

david @ rh_circles

Nouwen

with 7 comments

This book, even though it was a bit open-ended, was very encouraging and necessary for me. Here are my thoughts based on some of the “Guide for Reflection” bits at the end of the book:

“A new beginning! We must learn to live each day, each hour, yes, each minute as a new beginning, as a unique opportunity to make everything new” (p.16).
Sometimes I like to think of my life as a book, with various chapters broken down according to the different periods of my life. The chapters I’ve read thus far have been exhilarating, and I am also enjoying this current chapter, with great expectations for what God will be doing with me, as well as with others that are a part of my life. Embracing the change and each minute that passes by lets me realize that every moment is precious.

“Hope frees us from the need to predict the future and allows us to live in the present” (p. 41).
As I am coming to a close in my first year of graduate school, I will be starting a three-month long internship during the summer. Making preparations for this is important, but I’ve been concerning myself with numerous aspects of what I must do until then, to ensure that I end up with a “good company.” But I realize that I’ve been trying to predict the future, when I could simply trust God with what will happen, and being diligent with the tasks at hand. And any other worries that I may have, in comparison to the things of God, become quite minuscule.

“We are God’s beloved daughters and sons, not because we have proven ourselves worthy of God’s love, but because God freely chose us” (p. 192).
I forget from time to time about my identity. And as Nouwen wrote, the factors of success, popularity, and power begin creeping into my life when I forget about who I am. I have to claim my true identity as God’s son, with the remembrance that Jesus resisted these temptations of success, popularity, and power. Jesus did so through the Word, and I too want to hold onto it.

Written by David

March 25, 2011 at 6:34 pm

Posted in Circles

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. “We are God’s beloved daughters and sons, not because we have proven ourselves worthy of God’s love, but because God freely chose us” (p. 192).

    I love that… I’m going to put that on my desktop sticky notes as a reminder of the truth of who I am as well =)

    Jenny Le

    March 25, 2011 at 9:46 pm

  2. I love this! Thank you for sharing your thoughts. I love love love what you said about the chapters of life…I never thought about it like that, but it’s a great illustration! Especially when you talked about expectancy…living in THIS chapter with “great expectations for what God will be doing with me”…awesome to think on this. I think so often we don’t live with expectancy of what God is doing in our lives, and we miss so many of those precious moments where He is fully present and working in us. Thanks for giving me so much to think about!

    Blair

    March 26, 2011 at 9:44 am

  3. I loved the text that you picked out David. I specifically remember reading all of those and being very blessed by those words. I especially liked the first one you picked out, that really resonates with my life right now. I’ll say a prayer after I write this that the Lord will bring you new beginnings and that you can live like that. I hope you’re doing well, we haven’t crossed paths in the lunches in a while!

    shea moore

    April 2, 2011 at 8:15 pm

  4. David. You are so awesome and I love you a whole bunch. I love the sentences you picked out. The last one hits me hard everytime. God does freely choose us, he always does, and always will no matter what we do. How awesome is that?! Thanks for the reminder 🙂

    brennan maloney-krips

    April 4, 2011 at 3:51 pm

  5. So much to meditate on. Praying for your internship this summer. May God receive all glory and honor!

    Karen Benoit

    April 4, 2011 at 5:56 pm

  6. how I too want to be like Jesus in all things and use the WORD to strengthen and flow from my life.

    Jenna

    April 5, 2011 at 1:48 pm

  7. mmm, yes, i love the idea of hope being something that’s freeing. what a beautiful thing. i hope we can all live in that freedom hope brings us in the uncertainty.

    Bayley

    April 5, 2011 at 5:52 pm


Leave a Reply

