the journal

david @ rh_circles

Update

with 5 comments

1
I recently watched a movie called Thor.  It was amazing.  I didn’t know anything about the Marvel Comics character Thor before I watched it.  There’s a line from the movie where Thor says something along the lines of, “Your ancestors called it magic, but you call it science.  Where I come from, they are one and the same.”

2
That made me think about the world that we live in at the moment.  I don’t know exactly how the previous civilizations lived (they were probably just as justified in believing in magic and the supernatural, as much as we believe in science), but today we live in an era where truth is defined by empirical science.  We try so hard using our approach in technology, the scientific method, and billions of observations of the universe that doesn’t bring us even one step closer to understanding the Truth.   Our flawed and incomplete equations and formulas fail to accurately describe the universe.  And there is so much cost involved — it always feels like an uphill effort.  The numerous discoveries that are published in the scientific journals, over time, become so small in comparison to the infinite universe.

3
Contrast that to Thor, who comes from a world that just KNOWS it.  He understands the complexities of the universe so completely, so perfectly, and so effortlessly.  It is so vibrant, so organic, so self-renewing.  And he’s so sure of his purpose.

4
I guess this related to me a lot, as I’m generally around people that rely on science, myself included.  The accumulation of knowledge is a temptation for me, if I have not placed God first.  One of the reasons why I did not pursue a PhD program was because of my fears that I might not be able to control myself when I am more deeply immersed in this environment.

5
In an odd way, what I wrote down while at Ponderosa is a source of encouragement:  All of the efforts made by me amounts to nothing unless God is  at the center.  All of my understanding is so limited and lacking.  There is something so fundamentally different about God and His ways.  Consuming, consuming, entertaining, seeking water that results in thirst, again and again.  But God has given us Himself.  He tells us to be strong.  He tells us not to fear.  He tells us that He has chosen us.  His Spirit is with us.  And until Jesus returns, we will be His signet ring.

Written by David

June 10, 2011 at 2:37 pm

Posted in Circles

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. mmmm yeah it’s totally interesting how our culture automatically defaults that whatever science finds is the absolute truth. it’s such a temptation for us to seek the knowledge that comes from man and to base our understanding off of whatever man has figured out. but science is often wrong and there is so much more to everything than we could ever even begin to understand. it’s so cool to trust in Him and stand on the rock knowing that we dont know everything but He does. He is the Truth and apart from Him absolutely nothing matters… good post david!

    Zach Hoffman

    June 11, 2011 at 7:48 am

  2. yup! so true! I come from an academic background where the accumulation of knowledge = awesomeness but I found myself asking what is the point? I could be completely knowledgeable and the source of information for people groups and researchers globally, and what will that amount to eternally? it is an uphill battle and I don’t want to always feel like I must do more more more to amount to anything in the academic world. God is SO incredibly much bigger than all I can hope for or learn about and He alone is the true source of hope and life and breath and everything I would ever want to know about anything. spending my time seeking Him and trusting Him is so much better. : ) thanks for writing. : )

    Jenna

    June 12, 2011 at 11:26 am

  3. I still want to see that movie…. Anyways, totally agree with the whole thing accumulation of knowledge thing. It can be very dangerous if we start to push God away through all of it. That danger of placing our brains before God is such a prevalent idea in academia. Ironically, it is that it all comes from God anyways. Appreciate your thoughts!

    rbrtolguin

    June 12, 2011 at 10:43 pm

  4. whoa, point #5 is so solid. I definitely needed to be reminded of all of those things. You are very insightful and I like to see how you can so easily relate things to God. We are His signet ring… that blows my mind. How extremely honored we are to have been chosen to live out His calling for us. How blessed we are to have His word to follow. How loved we are to be filled with His spirit.

    shea moore

    June 13, 2011 at 1:35 pm

  5. I love what you wrote up at Pondo! It is totally a source or encouragement. Thanks for sharing and I so want to see Thor still. When I was at the dog beach this week with my brother’s puppy, there was a rott puppy named Thor. Thor must be a pretty darn good character to name a dog after.

    Lindsey Kingsland

    June 19, 2011 at 11:32 am


Leave a Reply

