the journal

david @ rh_circles

Consolidation

with 4 comments

I’ve realized that I’ve been stretching myself too thin lately.

I’ve been driving up to Pasadena and other surrounding areas to meet some of my old friends.  I want to do a lot of “stuff” before my full-time internship starts this summer.  I’m driving, dozens of miles at a time, refueling, and driving again.  But I’m realizing that I should just slow down.  My reasons for travelling and meeting others seem to be justified — they are good old friends that came from out of state and outside the country, and I want to see them before they leave again.  But I need to consolidate my time and resources and do only what I have to do, while trusting in God.  I want to do as much as I can, with what I have here.

I’m not sure if I’m explaining myself clearly.  This following anecdote comes to mind, and I think might be related.

It was a few years ago.  My brother and I flew to Korea to meet up with my mom, dad, and my young sister.  They had also flown in from another country overseas.  Something interesting was that some missionary families that I hadn’t seen in over 10 years happened to be visiting Korea at the exact same week.  What was even more amazing was to watch my parents interact with the missionaries — they had not kept in touch for over 10 years, and yet they warmed up to each other as though they had just met yesterday.  They didn’t have Facebook or other means of keeping in touch, and they didn’t even keep in touch through e-mail (not that they didn’t want to, it just happened they weren’t able to keep in touch through e-mail).  Yet they had always been praying for each other, every day.   They spoke on the same wavelength.  They were on the same page, unified through the Holy Spirit.  It was so awesome to see them love each other, talk to each other about what had been happening in their lives.  That interaction was an example of true friendship, just loving one another, without all the “stuff” that we feel we need to maintain a friendship.  All they needed was their relationship with the Lord, and being connected through that — God as the common denominator.  I get this feeling as though heaven will kind of like this, an amazing reunion where we can spend time loving God and loving His valuable creation.

There are so many people that I want to meet from my past, so many lunches and dinners I want to have with others, so many conversations I want to have with them.  But more important than all of that is spending time with the Lord, consolidating my time.  Jesus had his disciples and met lots of people, but he always valued his time with the Lord.  And that is what I want to do.

Written by David

June 18, 2011 at 12:25 pm

Posted in Circles

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. isn’t that such a beautiful thing? i have a friend like that, where we rarely see each other, but when we do it’s like no time has passed at all. and the only thing i can accredit to is the holy spirit in each of us, that recognizes one another, that feels comfortable in that love, that doesn’t depend on seeing each other often. thanks for sharing this 🙂

    Bayley

    June 24, 2011 at 8:55 am

  2. i love that picture of your parents and their old friends not even talking but ahving such a strong bond through the Holy Spirit. That is awesome and that is what paul meant when he emphasized being united together in one Spirit and with one purpose. so encouraging and powerful.

    also, this tuesday i spend 5 hours alone fishing at a lake by myself. i was just talking to Jesus, reading my bible, and hanging out. it was AWESOME. i felt so renewed and refreshed spiritually. it was like a Holy Spirit gas station. we definitely need to make sure that we unplug and spend alone time with our Savior. it’s essential! thanks for the post brother, loved it.

    Zach Hoffman

    June 24, 2011 at 3:31 pm

  3. David!
    This is so good. I too want to do so much with so many people, but alas, we are but one person and our focus & time should be on the Lord and where He directs us. I feel that all too often I get caught up in past friendships and making plans that I fail to be where He wants me though He appreciates my heart to love different people that were parts of other seasons of my life. Thank you for the tale. That is what true friendship does look like & I want my friendships to look similiar, not all the added mess that we feel needs to be apart, but simply loving & praying for another in authenticity. Thanks for sharing David. Happy Friday!

    Corinne Paget

    July 1, 2011 at 8:21 am

  4. Before I got to your second paragraph, I was reminded of our talk on the retreat, and then went on to re-experience it:)
    That is awesome David. Praise God for the example of your parents. Talk about an intersection of God’s servants!

    Too often, my circle of ‘Christian community’ buoys my self-worth:(
    May our relationships begin to resemble Paul’s friendships – not for our leisure but for Christ’s mission:
    2 timothy 4:9-12 Do your best to come to me soon. For Demas, in love with this present world, has deserted me and gone to Thessalonica. Crescens has gone to Galatia, Titus to Dalmatia.Luke alone is with me. Get Mark and bring him with you, for he is very useful to me for ministry. Tychicus I have sent to Ephesus.

    Billy

    July 5, 2011 at 12:56 pm


Leave a Reply

